education pathways

Home » Book Review » Hospitality and Homicide–does evil exist?

Hospitality and Homicide–does evil exist?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Goodreads

Hospitality and Homicide

by Lynn Cahoon

Hospitality and HomicideHospitality and Homicide is the eighth book in the Tourist Trap Mysteries. I have not read any others in the series, but the number of characters are limited and it was easy to jump into the story. The plot is fairly simple; too much emphasis is on the characters’ everyday lives, rather than on the mystery. Halfway into the book the reader knows with certainty Jill’s daily activities, her favorite dessert, her relationship issues, etc. Despite that, the author details them over and over throughout the book. There are undoubtedly some tense moments and some twists, but no cliffhangers. Another issue was the disappearance of a boy. It was unclear how long he had been missing, making that thread somewhat unbelievable. I did enjoy the book and was curious as to how the mysteries would be resolved, but it was not outstanding.

This book has two main plot threads—a brutal murder and a disappearance. One of them involves a psychic who communes with spirits. As a Christian, I usually avoid books with paranormal aspects, but this one slipped under my radar. Initially the theme seemed mild. At the end there was an unresolved issue as to why the psychic was successful in one case and not in another. Holding even more impact for me, however, was the statement made by police detective Greg about someone who committed a horrific, sadistic murder: “I don’t believe in evil, but if I did, this guy would be the picture next to the dictionary definition.” The Bible makes it clear that evil exists, and I would think that anyone who reads news reports would be convinced of that as well. Regardless, I want to clarify that the viewpoint of this book is not a reflection of my beliefs, nor is it a Biblical viewpoint. In looking at teasers of other books in this series, I did not see evidence that the other books in the series contain paranormal elements.

I would like to extend my thanks to netgalley.com and to Kensington Books for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 3/5

Category: Mystery

Notes: #8 in the Tourist Trap Mystery series. Contains paranormal elements.

Publication:   May 16, 2017—Kensington Books

Memorable Lines:

“Honey, I don’t have to make you sound like a wimp. When it comes to other people, you are a pushover. Everyone in town knows that.”

I know, I own a bookstore and I should be anti-e-readers. But honestly, I’m more concerned that people read than exactly how they read.

A readers’s pride and joy is having an author personally sign their copies of well-loved stories. That’s the reason bookstores will never be replaced by the e-reader. People need their keeper shelves.

7 Comments

  1. In the first books she flirted with the paranormal aspect. I started reading her as she grew up in Boise. I read for the characters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lghiggins says:

      The series must have a good following since this is her eighth book in the series. I know what you mean about reading authors from your state; you feel like you want to support their efforts.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, she has a good following and she has started another series. Her Car Larimer is set in Colorado. Some of her writings remind me of Boise set somewhere else. It is a little darker. I have caught a few errors. The stories are light, easy to read and character driven. I read because I want to know what the characters are doing next.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lghiggins says:

        These authors need to watch out, Betty. You are so good at the factual information!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Joëlle says:

    Thank you for yet another interesting and honest review. I cannot bother you with comments on every post, but I enjoy reading them, and I like the fact that you don’t always read the first book in a series. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lghiggins says:

      Thank you for the feedback, Joëlle. Trying to keep up with your own blog and reading and commenting on others can be overwhelming, can’t it? I have very bad Internet connections right now and it is frustrating. In a few weeks, I return to rural MX where the connection is ironically so much better than rural NM, USA.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Joëlle says:

        Really? That is truly ironical!
        Yes, keeping up with just one’s own everyday life while staying on the blogosphere can be quite a challenge…
        Enjoy your time in New Mexico, and stay safe!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

